2022 3rd Association of British Chinese Professors (ABCP) Annual Conference

The 3rd Annual Conference of the Association of British Chinese Professors (ABCP) will be held at the University of Birmingham (1-2 July 2022). The conference is hybrid on Day 1 and online only on Day 2. Click here to see the details.  

Following the common aim and objectives of the conference, all seven tracks have developed some exciting topics. The Sustainability and Ageing Society Track (SAST), in particular, has the following two distinctive features:  

·       Impact showcase: Experts share good practices to build impact cases with an interdisciplinary team (see attached agenda) 

·       Career development in the UK: Career consultants, scholars, and researchers share tips and findings to navigate different academic career stages (after PhD) in the UK  

The conference is free for PhD students to attend. A £20 of the registration fee is required. However, there will be a £26 worth of food package available free of charge for each in-person attendance for Day1. The in-person session registration will be closed by 17th June 2022.

Basic Information

Venue: Lecture Theatre G03, Alan Walters Building, University of Birmingham + Zoom (Online)

Dates: 1 and 2 July 2022 (Friday and Saturday)


The registration for the Conference is now open. Please choose one of the following links to register your attendance:

Programme (Tentative)

Day 1: 1 July 2022 Friday (hybrid: onsite and virtual participation on Zoom)

10:00-12:30 Opening Ceremony

12:30-13:30 Lunch Break

13:30-16:00 Parallel Technical Tracks

Day 2: 2 July 2022 Saturday (virtual participation on Zoom)

10:00-12:30 ABCP Annual General Meeting (AGM)

Agenda TBC

12:30-13:30 Lunch Break

13:30-17:00 Parallel Technical Tracks


Conference Chair:

Professor Hua Zhao (赵华教授) FREng FMCAE, President, ABCP & Vice Provost & Dean of College of Engineering, Design and Physical Sciences, Brunel University London

Organising Committee Chair:

Professor Hongming Xu (徐宏明教授), Vice President (Events and Membership), ABCP & Chair in Energy and Automotive Engineering, University of Birmingham

Organising Committee Members:

  • Professor Daqing Ma (马大青教授) MAE, Executive Vice-President, ABCP & Professor of Anaesthesia, Imperial College London
  • Professor Hongbiao Dong (董洪标教授), Vice-President & General Secretary, ABCP & Professor of Materials Engineering, University of Leicester
  • Professor Qihai Huang (黄起海教授), Vice-President for Finance, ABCP & Head of Management, University of Huddersfield
  • Professor Junwang Tang (唐军旺教授) MAE, Vice-President for Industrial Liaison & Fund Raising, ABCP & Professor of Materials Chemistry and Engineering, University College London (UCL)
  • Professor Huabing Yin (尹华兵教授), Vice-President for EDI (Equality, Diversity and Inclusion), ABCP & Professor of Biomedical Engineering, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Shujun Li (李树钧教授), Vice-President for IT & External Liaison, ABCP & Professor of Cyber Security, University of Kent
  • Professor Yaochu Jin (金耀初教授) MAE, Distinguished Chair and Professor in Computational Intelligence, University of Surrey & Alexander von Humboldt Professor for AI, Bielefeld University, Germany
  • Professor Xiao-Ping Zhang (张小平教授), University of Birmingham
  • Dr Shangfeng Du (杜尚丰博士), Senior Lecturer, University of Birmingham
  • Dr Wen Wang (汪文博士), Associate Professor in HRM, University of Leicester
  • Professor Beining Chen (陈蓓宁教授), University of Sheffield
  • Professor Xin Wang (王欣教授), University of Manchester
  • Dr Mengyi Xu (徐梦艺博士), Cranfield University
  • Professor Huiru (Jane) Zheng (郑慧如教授), Ulster University

Managing editor: Tong Meng

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: